The Legislature has 43 members elected for five years, the maximum duration of its existence. The Legislature elected Oct. 30, 1956, was the 46th in Nova Scotia's history and the 23rd since Confederation.

The Premier of the Province receives a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$10,000 per annum. Each Member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$2,400 and an allowance of \$1,200 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$3,000 in addition to his sessional indemnity.

16.—Legislatures and Premiers of Nova Scotia 1933-58 and Ministry as at Sept. 1, 1958 Legislatures 1933-581

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1933 une 29, 1937 Oct. 28, 1941 Oct. 23, 1945 une 9, 1949 May 26, 1953 Oct. 30, 1956	17th. 18th. 19th. 20th. 21st. 22nd.	444443	Mar. 1, 1934 Mar. 1, 1938 Feb. 19, 1942 Mar. 14, 1946 Mar. 21, 1950 Feb. 24, 1954 Feb. 27, 1957	May 20, 193' Sept. 19, 194' Sept. 12, 194' Apr. 27, 194' Apr. 14, 195' Sept. 20, 1950

¹ The Ministries from 1933-58 were: 12th Ministry sworn in Sept. 5, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 13th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. A. S. MacMillan; 14th Ministry sworn in Sept. 8, 1945, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 15th Ministry sworn in Apr. 13, 1954, under the leadership of Hon. Harold Connolly; 16th Ministry sworn in Sept. 30, 1954, under the leadership of Hon. Henry D. Hicks; 17th Ministry sworn in Nov. 20, 1956, under the leadership of Hon. Robert L. Stanfield.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Sept. 1, 1968.

## Seventeenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 30, 1956: 24 Progressive Conservatives, 18 Liberals, 1 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Note. - Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, Provincial Treasurer, Chairman of the Nova Scotia Power Commission Minister of Highways and Provincial Secretary. Attorney General and Minister of Public Health. Minister of Lands and Forests and Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Public Works and Minister of Labour. Minister of Agriculture and Marketing. Minister of Mines and Minister of Trade and Industry. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Education and Minister of Public Welfare.	Hon. R. L. Stanfield.  Hon. G. I. Smith.  Hon. R. A. Donahob.  Hon. R. C. Levy.  Hon. S. T. Pyke.  Hon. E. D. Halburton  Hon. E. A. Manson.  Hon. N. L. Fergusson.  Hon. M. S. Leonard.	Nov. 20, 1956 Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956 Nov. 20, 1956 Aug. 3, 1957

## Subsection 4.—New Brunswick

The Government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Honourable J. Leonard O'Brien, Lieutenant-Governor at Sept. 1, 1958, was commissioned to office June 6, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 89.

The Legislature elected June 18, 1956, is the 43rd in New Brunswick's history and the 16th since Confederation. It has 52 members who are elected for a statutory term of five years.